tenletter

The greatest games you’ve never played

Posted in pc game, rpg, WoD by jatori on 4 December 2008

Several things around the local blogosphere have inspired this post. Firstly, my recent post about CRPGs of the 90s; then the announcement of the 5th monthly RPG blog carnival: Transitions and Transformations; and finally, the fact that Jonathan beat me to the Transformers post.

All of the above reminded me of my favourite vapourware:

Vampire: The Masquerade – Bloodlines is one of my favourite CRPGs of all time. If you haven’t played it, I recommend that you try and get your hands on this 2004 gem. Anyway, within V:TM Bloodlines, a sense of a living world is portrayed through changing newspaper headlines, TV news reports and radio broadcasts.  The best part about the radio broadcasts, however, were the advertisments. One of the radio adverts was about the Deformers (including Optical Mouse Prime – I would so buy an Optical Mouse Prime). My favourite radio ad, though, was about the upcoming horror RPG: Frankenstein: Breadlust. The link takes you to a youtube tribute video to the greatest game never made.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. the_blunderbuss said, on 5 December 2008 at 3:12 pm

    You know… I played that game, but never found myself interested enough to finish it. I guess one of the main things was the clear sense of claustrophobia that I got from it. I just can’t believe the environment you start in. Not just because the city is small, but because in about 3 blocks they’ve managed to chunk pretty much every important story related building and character. It feels more crowded than a small town in that regard.

    Of course, the fact that the animations were severely lacking was also a turnoff for me… I can deal with bad graphics but bad animation is harder for me to forgive (although apparently only in some games, Battle for Wesnoth looks perfectly fine in my eyes.) In any case, I will give it points for interesting voice acting and well directed scenes (yes the haunted hotel kicks ass.)

    Also I totally missed the point about the transformations… will come back with a trackback and fix that very soon.

    Fred.

  2. jatori said, on 8 December 2008 at 8:15 am

    Fred, I agree with you: the game had buckets of problems (amongst them, the animation). However, looking at some more recent games coughfallout3cough, animating human movement is still an issue.

    The game world is bigger than the starting 3 block area, and more characters do get introduced later.

    And, yes, the haunted hotel is utterly amazing.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 351 other followers

