tenletter

Gender Portrayal through Writing

Posted in gender studies, internet, rpg by Jerall on 25 June 2009

Recently, I discovered GenderAnalyzer – a site that, apparently, can determine a writer’s gender based on a sample of the writer’s, well, writing. Now, gender (portrayal, perception, understanding) and gaming  happens to be one of tenletter’s favourite topics, so it’s only natural (for me, at least) that I see if GA can accurately determine the genders of the tenletter authors (or which of the manly men on the team write like little girly girls). Here’s the list (real gender in parenthesis):

Jatori (Male): Male 67%

Peasant Butcher (Female): Male 57%, but quite gender neutral.

TrashCondor (Male): Male 70% [As expected from resident author and expert on cleaving]

Etufo (Male): Male 68%

rolery (Male): Male 58%, but quite gender neutral.

Zeneofa (Male): Male 80%

Endraca (Female): Male 65%

Avianfoo (Male): Male 87%

And here’s a sampling of five of my favourite RPG blog authors (note: this time, I decided to look at authors that I didn’t analyze with the Myers-Briggs test).

Evil Machinations (Female): Male 57%, but quite gender neutral.

Vulcan Stev (Male): Male 66%

MacGuffen (Male): Male 78%

Sanastar (Male): Male 74%

Uncle Bear (Male): Male 65%

- jatori

Tagged with: , , , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. trashcondor said, on 25 June 2009 at 9:39 am

    Now the results are reasonably solid, I guess – but I suspect the analyzer needs to be calibrated for gaming orientated texts to properly evaluate this blog.

    …and I knew using italics in the monk variant post would somehow backfire on me. And prompt my manliness is off-beat for this evaluator. Crisis :P

  2. jatori said, on 25 June 2009 at 10:50 am

    This study just reinforces rule 16 of the internet.

  3. Stargazer said, on 25 June 2009 at 11:12 am

    Yay! I am more manly than even Uncle Bear! :)

  4. Anarkeith said, on 25 June 2009 at 11:44 pm

    Heh. Entertaining. Although of the samples I gave it, it varied from 55% to 61% likely that I am a woman. Which I’m not. I’ll take it as a compliment that my writing is close to gender-neutral.

  5. Berin Kinsman said, on 26 June 2009 at 6:44 am

    As if being in touch with my feminine side is a BAD thing?

    • jatori said, on 26 June 2009 at 10:18 am

      Yeah, we’re just more modern and well-adjusted men than those other barbarians.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 351 other followers

