tenletter

[Pathfinder] Let’s Build Some Characters

Posted in pathfinder, rpg by Jerall on 21 October 2009

I think it’s about time to end my blogging drought. The usual reasons for my lack of writing apply (work*, travel and all the rest). Today, I’m going to continue with my build-a-character series of posts (I wonder if I can turn this into a Build-a-Bear-esque business venture. Remember to warm (or not) your character’s heart before putting it in).

Remember, I started this series of posts to help me develop a character for a Pathfinder game. Well, we’ve already had a few sessions and I’ve been playing a transmuter. There’s nothing exceptionally special about the transmuter build (that doesn’t mean there is something exceptionally special about the way I play the build – I disregarded AC, dexterity and wisdom and pumped a lot into strength and just generally wade into melee with my club in a very undignified fashion). So, since I’ve already got a character and have already played a few sessions with him, why am I still mucking about with different builds?

  1. I always need a stockpile of NPCs (ideas and/or full stat blocks) for games I run.
  2. Having a stockpile of PCs (ideas and/or semi-statted) helps reduce downtime when player death occurs (especially when raise dead is not possible or not desired).
  3. It’s one of the fun parts of RP for me.

Anyway, today’s post is only a preview post. Here follows a list of character builds I intend to share over the next few days. If you  are interested in seeing one in particular, let me know.

  1. A paladin, that uses a ladder, Catch Off-Guard and his Divine Bond to bring you such hits as “Stairway to Heaven”. <Groan>
  2. A crazed illusionist that’s convinced of his own divinity. He makes liberal use of Shadow Conjuration to cast beneficial healing spells and cures. The best part: recipients of his healing magics actually have to actively not disbelieve his divinity.
  3. A two-handed-weapon fighting ranger. That’s right, two-handed, as in great axe, as in not double weapon – because two-weapon fighting is for wimps.

- jatori

*Interestingly, this time, work involves me trying to explain to clients/superiors why circular reasoning is a bad thing, without blatantly calling them idiots. It’s tougher than you think.

Tagged with: , ,

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. trashcondor said, on 21 October 2009 at 12:55 am

    And (once more) j puts up fantastic blackmail fodder. Lemme just quickly find the email address of his superiors again… ;)

    Both number 1 and 2 have me keen on more – I completely disregarded the crazed illusionist until that last comment about actively not disbelieving. That is just too sweet :D

  2. Zarthon said, on 21 October 2009 at 8:23 am

    # A crazed illusionist that’s convinced of his own divinity. He makes liberal use of Shadow Conjuration to cast beneficial healing spells and cures. The best part: recipients of his healing magics actually have to actively not disbelieve his divinity.

    I think this is really cool, he could have a sort of televangelist thing going.

  3. jatori said, on 21 October 2009 at 9:27 am

    Glad you liked the illusionist idea. It’s actually an old idea from 3.5 days. It just needs to be tweaked and updated for Pathfinder. I think I’ll start with this one and leave the paladin and ranger till later.

    The ranger is also an old 3.5 idea that I never got to use.

  4. trashcondor said, on 21 October 2009 at 11:07 am

    For the ranger – are you planning to have armor spikes or something as your off-hand weapon (even if you don’t use them) so you can get Two-Weapon Defense?

  5. jatori said, on 21 October 2009 at 11:30 am

    Improved Unarmed Strike, Stunning Fist and other combat maneuvers that can be performed unarmed (trip, disarm etc.).

    Also thinking of new piece of equipment: Cold Iron-capped Boot.

    Spikes are nice too.

    Defense is for weenies.

  6. Kurrel said, on 21 October 2009 at 12:52 pm

    Speaking of defence, I was thinking of an excercise in character development.

    How would you maximize defence at 1st level and also maintain it the whole career up while still always having at least 1 attack a round?

    • jatori said, on 21 October 2009 at 1:45 pm

      A challenge? I accept. Stay tuned for my response.

      @Trashcondor: You up to this too?

    • trashcondor said, on 22 October 2009 at 9:09 pm

      Can do, but need more definition. Defense purely AC? Saves? CMD? What constitutes an attack?

    • jatori said, on 22 October 2009 at 9:28 pm

      Well, I’ve got my pdf of the Beastiary, so, using the build-yer-own-monster guide, we can extrapolate a list of defense criteria per level. Maybe, minimum AC = 11 + Good Attack Roll; minimum touch AC = 11 + Bad Attack Roll?

      We can generate similar requirements for saves, CMD etc. The challenge will require us to meet the minimum requirement for all criteria at all levels.

      This is really nerdy.

    • Kurrel said, on 29 October 2009 at 8:54 am

      Well, I was thinking more of ‘just gets an attack roll’ than a good attack, to rule out full defensive builds.

      So far as I see it, there are 3 forms of defence required;
      a) AC
      b) Touch AC
      c) Saving throws

      Covering these three or any one extremity would a good goal.

  7. jatori said, on 26 October 2009 at 11:46 pm

    Oh no! I was busy working on the Illusionist build, when I reread the Shadow Conjuration description. The spell only lets you mimic wizard spells (so, no false cures). Doh. Maybe this is why I didn’t make the character back in 3.5.

  8. trashcondor said, on 27 October 2009 at 10:37 pm

    Nooooooooo

    • jatori said, on 27 October 2009 at 10:46 pm

      Shades (level 9) would work though, since it isn’t explicitly restricted to the wizard’s spell list. But, a level 7 crazed illusionist would be so much cooler than a level 17 one.

  9. TejayHighlander said, on 8 November 2010 at 3:39 am

    If you want an amazing build for Pathfinder, meet Ausk:
    Race: Half orc
    Class: Barbarian
    Alternative Racial Features: Toothy
    Alternative Class Features: Invulnerable Rager Archetype
    Feats: Toughness, Power Attack, Rending Claws, Eldritch Claws
    Rage Powers: Lesser through Greater Beast Totem, Reckless Abandon
    I’ll leave the rest to your imagination…

    • jatori said, on 8 November 2010 at 8:55 am

      Yes, the APG barbarian variants are amazing and I am a huge fan of claw and fang combat styles. But, I prefer the Savage variant as it allows for high AC and good DPR.

  10. trashy said, on 8 November 2010 at 8:04 pm

    However, j, it’s not that easy – the Savage variant’s natural AC bonus does not stack with the natural AC granted from the beast totem rage power. Just in case you included that in your maths.

    • jatori said, on 8 November 2010 at 8:15 pm

      Wasn’t planning on combining savage and beast totem. Sorry, didn’t make it clear in my comment: Savage is my favourite of all the variants :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 351 other followers

